MINUTES OF MEETING COUNTY EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING TRUSTEE EDUCATION SESSION JANUARY 17, 2024, AT 2:00 P.M. ET VIA LIVE VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

At the Meeting of the County Employees Retirement System Board of Trustees held on January 17, 2024, the following members were present: Betty Pendergrass (Chair), Dr. Patricia Carver, George Cheatham, Michael Foster, Dr. Merl Hackbart, Dr. Martin Milkman, William O'Mara, and Jerry Powell. Staff members present were CERS CEO Ed Owens, III, Rebecca Adkins, Erin Surratt, Michael Lamb, Steve Willer, Victoria Hale, Crystal Smith- Harrod, Ashley Gabbard, Katie Park, Shaun Case, and Sherry Rankin. Others present included Eric Branco with Johnson Bowman Branco, LLP.

Ms. Pendergrass called the meeting to order.

Mr. Branco read the Opening Statement.

Ms. Rankin called Roll.

There being no *Public Comment* received, Ms. Pendergrass introduced agenda item *Open Meetings and Open Records Training (Video 00:06:30 to 02:05:20).* Mr. Branco led the CERS Board of Trustees in a two-hour Open Meetings and Open Records Training.

Mr. Cheatham requested additional information regarding the process for notifying members, the press, and the public of meetings.

Mr. Foster exited the meeting

Ms. Pendergrass opened the floor for adjournment. Mr. Powell made a motion and was seconded by Mr. O'Mara to *adjourn* the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

CERTIFICATION

I do certify that I was present at this meeting, and I have recorded the above actions of the Trustees on the various items considered by it at this meeting. Further, I certify that all requirements of KRS 61.805-61.850 were met in conjunction with this meeting.

Recording Secretary

I, the Chair of the Board of Trustees of the County Employees Retirement System, do certify that the Minutes of Meeting held on January 17, 2024, were approved on March 11, 2024.

Chair of the Board of Trustees

I have reviewed the Minutes of the January 17, 2024, Board of Trustees Meeting for content, form, and legality.

Executive Director Office of Legal Services